OEE Management from Manual to Industry 4.0: The book

OEE management is a powerful methodology to increase the productivity of machines.  Despite the fact that the key figure Overall Equipment Effectiveness (OEE) has existed since the 1980s, so far only a few qualitatively appealing literature on the subject has been published in German. The book “Increasing Plant Productivity through OEE Management” by Dr. Markus Focke and Jörn Steinbeck would like to contribute to the understanding and dissemination of the methodology.

Increasing Plant Productivity through OEE Management

The book “Steigerung der Anlagenproduktivität durch OEE-Management” was published in German language in April 2018 by Springer Gabler as a book and ebook.

Figure: Increasing plant productivity through OEE management

In the Essential, practical examples illustrate how to increase plant productivity of manufacturing companies by introducing OEE management. The authors provide an easy-to-understand definition of Overall Equipment Effectiveness (OEE) that can be used in all industries. They provide implementation-oriented procedures for the introduction of OEE management in companies. The reader receives concrete instructions for recording the key figure as well as the causes of plant productivity loss. It covers both the manual capture and the application of Industrie 4.0 technology. The OEE is a management tool for the structured, continuous improvement process (CIP) of plant productivity. Finally, a procedure for the financial evaluation of the OEE increases is delivered.

The Autors

Dr. Markus Focke is Professor of Production Management at the Department of Economics of the University of Applied Sciences Aachen and Director of the Master Program Industrial Engineering. For over 15 years, he has been working professionally on lean production and operational excellence. His stations include Daimler Trucks, Porsche Consulting and since 2010 he has been working as a consultant alongside the professorship.

Jörn Steinbeck is an industrial engineer at the Technical University of Berlin and the University of California at Berkeley. His professional career took him from PwC, IBM, Porsche Consulting and Zeiss to the management of the Institute for Productivity, a consulting firm specializing in operational excellence and Industry 4.0. In addition, it is involved as a start-up founder and holds lectures at universities on the topics of lean management and Industry 4.0.

OEE-Management von manuell bis Industrie 4.0: Das Buch

OEE-Management ist eine leistungsfähige Methodik die Produktivität von Anlagen zu steigern. Trotz der Tatsache, dass die Kennzahl Overall Equipment Effectiveness (OEE) schon seit den 1980er Jahren existent ist, wurde bislang nur wenig qualitativ ansprechende Literatur zu dem Thema auf deutscher Sprache veröffentlich. Das Buch „Steigerung der Anlagenproduktivität durch OEE-Management“ von Dr. Markus Focke und Jörn Steinbeck möchte einen Beitrag zum Verständnis und zur Verbreitung der Methodik leisten.

Steigerung der Anlagenproduktivität durch OEE-Management

Das Buch „Steigerung der Anlagenproduktivität durch OEE-Management“ ist im April 2018 bei Springer Gabler als Buch und ebook erschienen.

Abbildung: Steigerung der Anlagenproduktivität durch OEE-Management

In dem Essential wird anhand von praktischen Beispielen erläutert, wie die Anlagenproduktivität von produzierenden Unternehmen durch Einführung des OEE-Managements gesteigert werden kann. Die Autoren bieten eine leicht verständliche und in allen Branchen anwendbare Definition der Overall Equipment Effectiveness (OEE). Sie geben umsetzungsorientierte Vorgehensvorschläge für die Einführung des OEE-Managements in Unternehmen. Der Leser erhält konkrete Hinweise zur Erfassung der Kennzahl sowie den Verlustursachen der Anlagenproduktivität. Dabei wird sowohl auf die manuelle Erfassung als auch die Anwendung von Industrie 4.0 Technologie eingegangen. Die OEE ist ein Managementwerkzeug für den strukturierten, kontinuierlichen Verbesserungsprozess (KVP) der Anlagenproduktivität. Abschließend erfolgt ein Vorgehen zur finanziellen Bewertung der erzielten OEE-Steigerungen.

Die Autoren

Dr. Markus Focke ist Professor für Produktionsmanagement am Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaften der FH Aachen und Leiter des Masterstudiengangs Industrial Engineering. Seit über 15 Jahren beschäftigt er sich professionell mit den Themen schlanke Produktion und Operational Excellence. Seine Stationen umfassen Daimler Nutzfahrzeuge, Porsche Consulting und seit 2010 ist er neben der Professur als Berater tätig.

Jörn Steinbeck ist ausgebildeter Wirtschaftsingenieur an der Technischen Universität Berlin und der University of California at Berkeley. Seine beruflichen Stationen führten ihn von PwC, IBM, Porsche Consulting und Zeiss in die Geschäftsführung beim Institut für Produktivität, eine auf operative Exzellenz und Industrie 4.0 spezialisierte Unternehmensberatung. Daneben engagiert es sich als Start-Up-Gründer und hält Vorlesungen an Hochschulen zu den Themen Lean Management und Industrie 4.0.